Warrant Officers 

With good
Master Chief
Petty Officer
of the Navy
E-9 MCPON insignia (with good conduct)
Master Chief Petty Officer
E-9 CMCPO insignia (with good conduct)
Command Master Chief
Petty Officer
E-9 CMDCM insignia (with good conduct)
Master Chief
Petty Officer
E-9 insignia E-9 insignia (with good conduct)
Senior Chief
Petty Officer
E-8 insignia E-8 insignia (with good conduct)
Petty Officer
E-7 insignia E-7 insignia (with good conduct)
Petty Officer
First Class
E-6 insignia E-6 insignia (with good conduct)
Petty Officer
Second Class
E-5 insignia E-5 insignia (with good conduct)
Petty Officer
Third Class
E-4 insignia E-4 insignia (with good conduct)

E-1 E-2 E-3
no insignia
E-2 insignia E-3 insignia
Fireman no insignia
E-2 insignia (fireman) E-3 insignia (fireman)
Airman no insignia
E-2 insignia (airman) E-3 insignia (airman)
Constructionman no insignia
Image:USNConstruct1.gif Image:USNavyConstruct2.gif

E-1 to E-3

Junior enlisted personnel are broken up into five definable groups with colored insignia stripes designating with which group they belong. A speciality mark may be worn above the rank insignia, which denotes training in a particular field: either as an apprentice (one that is in search of a rating to join), or as a designated striker (one that has found a rating but is not yet a petty officer). The serviceperson is addressed by their group designation, if known (ie Fireman Jones, Constructionman Apprentice Smith); by the generic appellation 'seaman;' or by their striker designation (ETSN Watson, CSSR Johnson).

E-4 to E-6

E-4 to E-6 are considered to be non-commissioned officers (NCOs), and are specifically called petty officers in the Navy. Their insignia is a perched eagle with spread wings(also referred to as a 'crow') atop a rating mark (a rating mark, or 'rate' is a symbol denoting their job category, similar to Army MOS), with chevron(s) denoting their relative rank below.

E-7 to E-9

E-7 to E-9 are still considered NCOs, but are considered a separate community within the Navy, unlike other branches of service. They have separate berthing and dining facilities (where feasible), wear separate uniforms, and perform separate duties. Advancement to Chief Petty Officer (E-7) or above requires an additional step of peer review by existing Chief Petty Officers. This goes beyond the normal examination score and performance evaluation process. Their dress blue insignia consists of a perched eagle with spread wings atop a rating mark, with three chevrons and one 'rocker' below; inverted five-point stars above the crow denote the rank of Senior Chief (one star) or Master Chief (two stars). However, all other uniforms use the fouled anchor device to denote rank. It consists of a fouled anchor with the initials U.S.N. (in silver) superimposed, with stars above the anchor to indicate higher paygrades, similar to the dress blue insignia. In the US Coast Guard the USN is substituted for the USCG Shield.

Command Master Chief

Upon obtaining Master Chief Petty Officer, the servicemember may choose to further their career by becoming a Command Master Chief (CMC). These personnel are considered to be the senior-most enlisted servicemember within their command, and are the special assistant to the Commanding Officer in all matter pertaining to the health, welfare, job satisfaction, morale, utilization, advancement and training the command's enlisted personnel. CMCs can be either Command level (within a single unit, such as a ship or shore station), Fleet level (squadrons consisting of multiple operational units, headed by a flag officer or commodore), or Force level (consisting of a separate community within the Navy, such as Subsurface, Air, Reserves). CMC insignia are similar to the insignia for Master Chief, except that the rating symbol is replaced by an inverted five-point star. The stars for Command Master Chief are silver, while stars for Fleet or Force Master Chief are gold. Additionally, SCMCs wear a badge, worn on their left breast pocket, denoting their title (Command/Fleet/Force).

Master Chief Petty Officer of the Navy

The Master Chief Petty Officer of the Navy (MCPON) is the senior enlisted person in the Navy. The MCPON serves as the senior enlisted leader of the Navy, and as an advisor to the Chief of Naval Operations and to the Chief of Naval Personnel in matters dealing with enlisted personnel and their families. The MCPON is also an advisor to the many boards dealing with enlisted personnel issues; is the enlisted representative of the Department of the Navy at special events; may be called upon to testify on enlisted personnel issues before Congress; and, maintains a liaison with enlisted spouse organizations. The MCPON's insignia is again similar to Fleet or Force SEAs, with the addition of a third star above the crow or anchor.

Coloration and Rating Symbols

Authority to wear gold rating badges and service stripes on the dress blue and working coverall uniform is granted when a sailor completes and maintains twelve consecutive years of honorable service without any official record of bad conduct, due to punitive action via non-judicial punishment or courts martial. The gold rating badges and service stripes are separate from the Good Conduct Medal, which is awarded for three years of honorable service.

Coloration of the insignia for E-4 through E-9 varies depending upon the uniform worn; black cloth with red or gold embroidered stripes is used on the winter uniforms, white cloth with black embroidered stripes is used on the summer uniforms, and medium blue cloth with red or gold embroidered stripes is used on the working coverall. E-3 and below use the same embroidery coloration for both summer white uniforms and winter blue uniforms, except for seaman, which is white embroidery on black cloth, and black embroidery upon white cloth.

The insignia shown have the rating mark of Boatswain's Mate; this is the pair of small anchors shown inside the compartment formed by the chevrons. This is replaced with the appropriate rating mark for the sailor's rating. Rating marks are not worn on collar insignia, nor on the utility uniform.

United States Coast Guard

The United States Coast Guard uses virtually the same insignia structure as the Navy, except that Seaman Recruit continues to carry one diagonal stripe in the Coast Guard, which is no longer the case in the Navy. The background of the insignia is also a lighter shade of blue than the Navy. Coast Guard collar and coat insignia for petty officers below the rank of Chief Petty Officer replace the eagle with the shield of the United States Coast Guard in silver, and use gold chevrons. Chief Petty Officers of the Coast Guard replace the "USN" with the shield of the United States Coast Guard in silver, on gold anchors with silver stars. In addition, Coast Guard CPOs, regardless of number of years in the Coast Guard, wear gold-colored sleeve insignia, whereas Navy CPOs are entitled to the gold-colored insignia upon completing 12 years of Good Conduct.